Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Basic Formulas in online Advertising : CPC CALCUALATION

CPC CALCUALATION :

As we know we have different rate models in online advertising , CPC – cost per click is one of the popular and well known used metric . Here the advertiser has to pay as per clicks and not on impressions . The page views can be any number , as the advertiser is concerned about clicks here .

Example : Suppose a campaign having 300×250 size banner running at CPC of $2 and the number of clicks the Ad has got is 1000 , what is the amount that the advertiser has to pay actually ?

The formula for CPC goes as below :

Cost to an Advertiser : CPC x number of clicks

using the above metrics ,

Cost to an Advertiser = 2 x 1000 = 2000

So , $ 2000 is what the advertiser has to pay !

CPC = Cost to an advertiser / number of clicks
Also , Cost = Impressions * CTR * CPC.

Basic Formulas in Online Advertising : CPM CALCULATION

CPM CALCULATION

cost per mille (1000) – This is one of the most used metrics on the web. It is the cost that has to be paid by an advertiser  for serving 1000 impressions .

Example :In a campaign , say an Ad of 728×90 is running and the CPM set is $5 and the impressions to be served is 2,00,000 , what will be the actual cost to  the advertiser ?

The formula for CPM goes this way :

Cost to an Advertiser = CPM x (Impressions / 1000)

using the above metrics :

Cost to an Advertiser= 5 x (2,00,000/1000) = 1000

So , $ 1000 is what the advertiser has to pay !

When CPM needs to be calculated : use the final cost.