Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Basic Formulas in online Advertising : CPA CALCULATION

CPA CALCULATION :

Another metric that we have and is generally used is cost per acquisition which is irrespective of impressions and clicks both .This metric deals with any action or basically when something is acquired like user sign up or when any sale is made.

Cost to an advertiser = CPA x ( Impression x CTR X CR  )

Suppose CPA is $5 , number of impressions is 10,000 , CTR is 3% and CR is 2%.

using the above metrics ,

Cost to an advertiser = 5 x ( 10000 x 0.03 x 0.02 ) = $30

Similarly , if you know the actual cost , we can easily calculate the CPA for the Ad using the below formula :

CPA = cost to an advertiser / ( Impressions x CTR x CR )

Also , Average Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) = Average Cost per Click / Conversion Rate

Some more formulas that are used :

CPL / CR = CPA or
Cost Per Lead divided by Conversion Rate = Cost Per Acquisition

and,

VPA – CPA = NP or
Value Per Acquisition minus Cost Per Acquisition equals Net Profit.

Basic Formulas in online Advertising : CTR CALCULATION and CR CALCULATION

CTR CALCULATION :

CTR is click through rate , it measures the effectiveness of any advertisement . It is calculated by using a simple formula as below :

Example  : A campaign having 728×90 Ad has served 10,000 impressions and has generated  100 clicks so what will be CTR of that Ad ?

CTR = (number of clicks / number of impressions) x 100

using above metrics ,

CTR = (100/10000) x 100 = 1 %

1% CTR means on every 100 impression there is one click.

CR CALCULATION :

CR is conversion rate , to calculate the conversion rate a simple formula is used :

CR = (number of conversions/Impressions) x 100 ,

so if number of conversion made are 20 in 1000 impressions , the conversion rate will be (20/1000) = 0.02 %

Basic Formulas in online Advertising : CPC CALCUALATION

CPC CALCUALATION :

As we know we have different rate models in online advertising , CPC – cost per click is one of the popular and well known used metric . Here the advertiser has to pay as per clicks and not on impressions . The page views can be any number , as the advertiser is concerned about clicks here .

Example : Suppose a campaign having 300×250 size banner running at CPC of $2 and the number of clicks the Ad has got is 1000 , what is the amount that the advertiser has to pay actually ?

The formula for CPC goes as below :

Cost to an Advertiser : CPC x number of clicks

using the above metrics ,

Cost to an Advertiser = 2 x 1000 = 2000

So , $ 2000 is what the advertiser has to pay !

CPC = Cost to an advertiser / number of clicks
Also , Cost = Impressions * CTR * CPC.

Basic Formulas in Online Advertising : CPM CALCULATION

CPM CALCULATION

cost per mille (1000) – This is one of the most used metrics on the web. It is the cost that has to be paid by an advertiser  for serving 1000 impressions .

Example :In a campaign , say an Ad of 728×90 is running and the CPM set is $5 and the impressions to be served is 2,00,000 , what will be the actual cost to  the advertiser ?

The formula for CPM goes this way :

Cost to an Advertiser = CPM x (Impressions / 1000)

using the above metrics :

Cost to an Advertiser= 5 x (2,00,000/1000) = 1000

So , $ 1000 is what the advertiser has to pay !

When CPM needs to be calculated : use the final cost.