Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Basic Formulas in online Advertising : eCPM CALCULATION : (Effective cost per mile)

eCPM CALCULATION : (Effective cost per mile)

Effective CPM is the actual CPM that is being applied , If the CPM set is $2 and the eCPM is $1.5 , the net profit is $0.5 . eCPM helps you measure how well your ads are performing.It is calculated by dividing total earnings/total spend by total number of impressions in thousands.

eCPM = ( Total spent / Impressions delivered ) x 1000

Example : An ad size of 728 has delivered 213456 impressions and has also spent some $300 with CPM set as $1.5, what will be the eCPM ?

Using the formula ,

eCPM = ( 300 / 213456 ) x 1000 = $1.40

We can also calculate eCPM using eCPC , but for that we need to know the conversion rate. and than using the formaula as below :

eCPM = eCPC x conversion rate x 1000

Basic Formulas in online Advertising : CPA CALCULATION

CPA CALCULATION :

Another metric that we have and is generally used is cost per acquisition which is irrespective of impressions and clicks both .This metric deals with any action or basically when something is acquired like user sign up or when any sale is made.

Cost to an advertiser = CPA x ( Impression x CTR X CR  )

Suppose CPA is $5 , number of impressions is 10,000 , CTR is 3% and CR is 2%.

using the above metrics ,

Cost to an advertiser = 5 x ( 10000 x 0.03 x 0.02 ) = $30

Similarly , if you know the actual cost , we can easily calculate the CPA for the Ad using the below formula :

CPA = cost to an advertiser / ( Impressions x CTR x CR )

Also , Average Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) = Average Cost per Click / Conversion Rate

Some more formulas that are used :

CPL / CR = CPA or
Cost Per Lead divided by Conversion Rate = Cost Per Acquisition

and,

VPA – CPA = NP or
Value Per Acquisition minus Cost Per Acquisition equals Net Profit.

Basic Formulas in online Advertising : CTR CALCULATION and CR CALCULATION

CTR CALCULATION :

CTR is click through rate , it measures the effectiveness of any advertisement . It is calculated by using a simple formula as below :

Example  : A campaign having 728×90 Ad has served 10,000 impressions and has generated  100 clicks so what will be CTR of that Ad ?

CTR = (number of clicks / number of impressions) x 100

using above metrics ,

CTR = (100/10000) x 100 = 1 %

1% CTR means on every 100 impression there is one click.

CR CALCULATION :

CR is conversion rate , to calculate the conversion rate a simple formula is used :

CR = (number of conversions/Impressions) x 100 ,

so if number of conversion made are 20 in 1000 impressions , the conversion rate will be (20/1000) = 0.02 %